Life Without Mysteries Would Be a Crime

Published Crime Fiction Works by Janis Wilson


Goulston Street:
The Quest for Jack the Ripper


Janis' first novel is set in the in Whitechapel, London in 1888. It is the Autumn of Terror, when Jack the Ripper is brutally murdering prostitutes. Queen Victoria pushes the police to solve the killings quickly, but they are stymied. Lady Sarah, a disgraced aristocrat, who runs a boarding house, takes up the quest as her own misfortunes weigh on her. Along with her brother, other aristocrats, and the prostitutes who rent from her, Sarah doggedly followed the trail at her own personal peril. As the murders grow even more grisly, Lady Sarah’s chase takes a number of twists and turns, much like the grimy streets of Whitechapel itself.

"A formidable entertainment crammed with incident and characters..." -- Ripperologist magazine.

Goulston Street: The Quest for Jack the Ripper is available on and Barnes and Noble.

The Devil’s Triangle

Janis’ first short story The Devil’s Triangle was part of Death Knell V, an anthology of murder and suspense stories from Infinity Publishing. It is about the inexplicable tension between two sisters. Their niece, in for a short visit, starts sleuthing to find out why. Death Knell V is also available on

Death Knell V